The crest worn as a distinction emblem of the Sam Houston Rifles is a combination of two devices. One is as old as the Norsemen, the other is as old as our nation.
The crossed rifles with bayonets are a significant part of our country’s history symbolizing the historic Kentucky long rifles first employed by American Ranger units in the Revolutionary War.
The remainder of the crest is a portion of the Coat of Arms of Sam Houston, whose name personifies the ideals of the Sam Houston Rifles. His coat of arms may be traced to a Norman knight who aided William the Conqueror in 1066, Sir Hugh of Padivan. Sir Hugh’s coat of arms in 1066 was the same as the portion used by the Jodies today . Later additions were made to Sir Hugh’s coat of arms for his part in rescuing the besieged Scottish King, Malcolm. These included flanking greyhounds, a winged hourglass and a banner proclaiming IN TEMPORA . Sir Hugh built his manor in Renfroshire and within a short time his descendants assumed the common name of the manor, Hugh’s Town. A later addition to the coat of arms was the castle of Sir John Houston. The complete coat of arms from which we, the Sam Houston Rifles, have adopted our own crest may be seen today in the shrine of Texas liberty: the Alamo.